My Recent & Sudden Obsession With Poetry + A Poem – obviously

 

Poetry @ The Writing WritersHello, fellow Artists, Writers, Musicians, Bakers, Designers, YOU GET THE POINT!

Since this is a writing blog, I thought it’d be only right to talk about recent and sudden obsession with poetry.

I don’t know whether to call it my  ‘hobby’ or a failed attempt at something new or an ‘obsession’. I just keep on writing. I mean I normally write in my journal and I do a few short stories, and I’ve done a few poems here and there, but now once I start, I simply cannot stop!

I think it’s coming back to writing. You see, for a while, recently, I was just writing in my journal. I had finished my ‘creative writing’ journal so I had no place to write any of my creative outlets. Then, a week ago, I brought a writing/bullet journal and my ponderings began again. My pen and paper were back out and to see the sight of them together again was a relief and a shock – I hadn’t written one of my crazy pieces in so long, I didn’t think I ever would again.

But the lack of a place to write wasn’t the only thing stopping me from being creative. Maybe it was my blog, school, exams. I really don’t know but life had become so busy there was no space for my thoughts to be expressed. And now that the holidays have begun I couldn’t stop myself. I wrote and wrote.

And I’m still writing.

To help me get back into the artistic mood, I’m participating in National Poetry Writing Month (NaPoWriMo) in which you write a poem every day for the whole of April. I’ve done more than one a day, to be perfectly honest because I can’t stop myself – literally. You can participate in it too, with or without a blog. I haven’t uploaded them to my site yet, but I will a page dedicated to NaPo poems – it’s great fun!

And to get my creative juices flowing, even more, the magazine is coming up and I am super excited. I’ll probably enter a poem, because…well…I think you know!

So, since I’ve been so obsessed. I’m sharing a poem with you – I hope you enjoy! Though be warned, it’s pretty rubbish.

pieces

7 years bad luck
a mirror shattered
the reflection of you
gone
split into so many pieces
as dangerous as you
gone

a prickle
a reminder of the pain
are we just that?
a simple reflection in the mirror

the outside of the inside
of the most complex living thing in the universe
a million twists and turns of
incomprehensible thoughts

is that really all we are?
picture perfect images in a mirror
that one day break

into dangerous
shattered
broken
pieces

So, do you write poetry? What’s one of your favourite poems? Are you obsessed with writing? Do you like my poem? (Wait, of course, you don’t) Are you participating In NaPoWriMo ?(gimme links!) Tell me your writerly obsessions – Is It Poems, short stories, novels, novellas?

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-20-03-42

17 thoughts on “My Recent & Sudden Obsession With Poetry + A Poem – obviously

  1. AAGGGHH MAHRIYA I LOVE ITTTTTTTT My favorite line(s?) would have to be: “7 years bad luck / a mirror shattered / the reflection of you” AGH IT’S GORGEOUS.
    So, do you write poetry?: Yes, I do!
    What’s one of your favorite poems?: I love so many!
    Are you obsessed with writing?: Yes, of course I am!
    Do you like my poem?: Um, YES???
    Are you participating In NaPoWriMo ? (gimme links!): I am! Here’s tha link 😉 : https://foreverandeverly.wordpress.com/napowrimo/
    Tell me your writerly obsessions – Is It Poems, short stories, novels, novellas?: My writerly obsessions are poems and novels. Mostly. XD

    Like

  2. So, do you write poetry? yes because its AWESOME (like me)
    What’s one of your favourite poems? hmm, too many to choose from!
    Are you obsessed with writing? is that even a question?
    Do you like my poem? (Wait, of course, you don’t) of course i do!
    Are you participating In NaPoWriMo ?(gimme links!) yes 😀
    ell me your writerly obsessions – Is It Poems, short stories, novels, novellas? poems and novels mostly.
    now my question to you: WHERE DID YOU FIND THOSE FLOWER GRAPHIC BECAUSE THEYRE GOALS

    Liked by 1 person

      1. With every little thing that appears to be developing within this particular subject matter, a significant percentage of viewpoints tend to be very radical. Neesethrlvse, I appologize, but I can not give credence to your whole plan, all be it refreshing none the less. It appears to everybody that your commentary are not totally validated and in fact you are your self not totally convinced of the assertion. In any case I did enjoy examining it.

        Liked by 1 person

Talk To TWW!

